Hunter Valley trip

November 16, 2009

Well I just returned from a 4 day trip of the Hunter Valley known for its wine and cheese and stuff that old fogeys enjoy. I am also somewhat sick of wine tasting since I have probably been to about 10 or so different vineyards and tasted about 20 different types of wine in the 4 days I was there. After a while all the wine starts to taste the same and the subtleties are lost, not to mention that my wine vocabulary consists of “good” and “not so good” since I am an uncultured heathen. All I learnt this trip was that I do not like flowery wines and prefer the dry stuff. I am not much of a wino so I will reserve detailed descriptions to the professionals and just restrict myself to my own wine dictionary.

The place I stayed at was quite nice though, it was a rather modern looking house in a gated village next to a golf course. It easily accommodated 10 people and the place was very clean and just generally nice to stay at. It was also fairly close to the wineries and places of interest. The Hunter was a bit boring though, nothing really exciting over there but definitely a great place to relax and hide away from society since it was quite far away from anything. I think that 4 days was a bit too long and could have been reduced to just 2 or 3 days since it really is just a place to go for wine, cheese and a taste of the country.

Another thing I realized was that property in that area was rather cheap for rather obvious reasons. It looked very tempting to buy a plot of land and just wait for the house prices to rise in 10 or 20 years or even to keep it as a possible holiday location. Too bad I need the money for more pressing things at this point in time.

Leave a Reply

