Eulogy for my soarer

September 21, 2009

The truth of the matter hit me on the weekend, that I have lost something which I have spent so much time and money on. Of course I am talking about my car. It took me 3 days to realize that I will miss driving it, the feel of the car will remain a fond memory of my “first” car. When I bought my soarer last year at around this time it was a stock standard car in very average condition, it wasn’t a bomb nor was it a shining example but rather just an old car which is starting to show its age.

I fell in love with the features that the car offered, all the interior trimmings as well as the power instantly grabbed my attention from the first inspection. No other car in the same price bracket could come close to compare with what the soarer offered. The enthusiastic owner community was also fantastic, providing a wealth of knowledge and support in case anything goes wrong. I had done my research and was rewarded with a marvelous specimen of a luxury sports car.

Over time I cleaned up the car so that it looks closer to its former glory 18 years ago. I got new carpets, new shift knob, new wipers and gave the car some TLC with many other plans for its future. I also installed a smoking sound system and new headlights myself. But alas our time was cut short by an unfortunate accident.

Not to say that the car didn’t have it’s share of problems; it was a money pit in terms of petrol consumption, maintenance and potential repairs. It returned a dismal 15L/100km on 98 octane, there was much that needed to be taken care of during servicing, and I was always on my toes just in case something else broke down in the car. However, it made me more interested in the car and I learnt a lot from all its inadequacies.

But now it is time to say goodbye and move on to something newer. I haven’t made up my mind yet, but I have around $15k to spend on a car and have shortlisted the Honda prelude and Nissan v35 skyline as possible candidates for my next car. Though due to budget restrictions I might go with a prelude since it is cheaper to run and insure and maintain.

Leave a Reply

