If you want things done right…

June 17, 2009

“If you want something done right, do it yourself.”

I am a firm believer in that and I tend to do leave important things for myself to do as opposed to commissioning someone else to do it for me. Pretty much everything I have done with my car I have done myself; changing headlights, installing the sound system, changing my seatbelts etc. I will only shy away from tasks which are out of my depth or are much easier/safer for someone else to do. For example I will never do anything myself for the suspension of the car because that shit will cause irreparable damage if not done properly. Or I will never deconstruct something which I don’t have confidence in putting back together. Another reason is liability. If I paid someone else to do something for me, they are liable for any faults and I can expect compensation for damages that eventuate from poor workmanship. Whereas if I completed a task myself and something breaks then I only have myself to blame. On a very related note, DIY is a lot cheaper than paying somebody else to do it because the labour is provided by yourself.

In my eyes I don’t see the point of paying someone to do something that you cannot do yourself with a little bit of effort. If you have the time and aren’t lazy then taking tasks upon yourself is a real learning experience. You don’t always want to rely on other people to do things for you especially when you are able to achieve something with your own two hands and get that sense of satisfaction. Although it may be difficult to do certain things by yourself (like taking apart the front bumper) you feel so much better once you have the experience and have completed the job! I swore like a sailor while I was taking the bumper off but after everything was put back together (with the help of a friend) I couldn’t be happier!

My next DIY project is to resolder my climate control in the car so that all the LEDs work and replace the LCD screen. I have never soldered before in my life but now is as good a time to start than any other!

2 Responses to “If you want things done right…”

  1. Q said

    wow
    i didnt know u had a blog!
    good stufff

  2. Tina said

    I totally agree on most things u said.
    Coudnt agree more.

Leave a Reply

